Loading

cultureclash1C1 Offline

  • Single, Man seeking a Woman
  • 40 years old from Chicago, IL
  • Logged in: 23 days ago
  • Last Update: 7/20/2014
Have kids:
None
Wants kids:
Not sure
Height:
5' 11" (180 cm)
Religion:
Culturally Jewi…
Smoke:
Non-Smoker
Education:
JD/Ph.D/Postdoc…
Occupation:
Education/Teach…
Synagogue:
On High Holidays
  • IM
  • Flirt
  • E-card
  • Secret Admirer?
  • Favorite

Email Me!

About Me

I'm an English professor at a small state college just outside of Chicago. Some days I feel like I'm doing God's work. Other days I'm correcting thesis statements on the Titanic. As for my likes and such? Book weather, radio days, conversations that go better with wine. I love subways, typewriters with a film noir look, the taste of coffee, stealing pens from the stationary closet in the English department, leaving meetings early and dinners late. I protest the privatization and commodification of education, and think teaching matters but archives are more fun. I am learning to cook my Grandma's borscht recipe as replacement for my missed bar mitzvah. I like finding the NPR station in new towns. And as a recent arrival to the Mid West, I'm doing my best to hold onto my sense of irony. If I could live another life, as Che once said, I would be a professional chess player, or start a revolution in Venezuela. As a teacher and writer, I hold onto the belief that well-made sentences are proof a better world is possible as a resident of the United States, I do my best to confront the realities in front of us, such as unemployment, fascists, emoticons, automatic transmissions, and microwaved tea.

Like what you see?

Join Now and browse for FREE!