Color: Red
What is this? Click here to find out »


CuriousTraveler78 Offline

  • Single, Man seeking a Woman
  • 36 years old from New York, NY
  • Logged in: 6 hours ago
  • Last Update: 1/11/2015
Have kids:
Wants kids:
6' 1" (185 cm)
Culturally Jewi…
  • IM
  • Flirt
  • E-card
  • Secret Admirer?
  • Favorite

Email Me!

About Me

Let me start by saying that I'm not your typical "guy" nor would this be a typical dating situation. But before I explain why, let me tell you a little about myself. If any of it piques your interest, perhaps you'll want to delve in deeper. Please note, I do not live in NYC (keep reading for an explanation). I was born in Israel to American parents who decided along the way that making "aliyah" was a bit harder than the flashy brochures of the 1970's made it out to be. To that end, my parents moved back to the U.S. when I was only a wee lad (hence, my Hebrew skills are embarrassingly poor, much to the chagrin of my mother, who was the Hebrew teacher in our Jewish community). I grew-up in middle America (Iowa, to be exact) and have stuck around the Midwest for most of my life (with the exception, of course, of traveling by plane, train, automobile, motorcycle and tuk tuk through over 30 countries). I went to Wash U for undergrad and grad school, then took a year off to work in Japan before returning to Chicago for med school and a PhD in chemical engineering. Having finished that and my intern year, I moved to St. Louis in 2012 for residency (I'm specializing in Ophthalmology--yes, I'm an eye guy). I'm a stone's throw away from finishing residency and am excited to reach the end of what has been a very long road. If you've made it this far, you're probably asking yourself, "Why is some guy who lives in St. Louis posting a JDate profile in NYC?" That's a fair question. To be honest, I just haven't had much luck finding the perfect combination of intelligence, beauty, ambition, grit and sincerity in St. Louis. I'm willing and able to travel to make things work with the right person. I know that's a lot to ask and it certainly wouldn't make for an easy or "standard" courtship but given that I'd like to meet the right person to settle down with and start a family in the very near future, I figure I shouldn't limit myself to the local area. Additionally (and this will probably be a deal-breaker for some), I've accepted a fantastic position in Maine to work as a comprehensive ophthalmologist with the plan to relocate to Boston, NYC, D.C. or somewhere in between after working there for 2 - 3 years. To that end, I'll be honest and say that I'm really looking for someone who has an adventurous spirit and would be willing--for the right person and reasons, of course--to relocate with me and brave the wilds of northern Maine for a few years before returning to civilization (I own a beautiful old but completely renovated farm house on a lot of acreage that I'd eventually like to turn into a B&B). I know, I know...that's a lot to ask but I'm a great guy with a lot to offer so I figure it's worth a shot. :) Well, there you have it. That's my story in a nutshell. If any of this sounds remotely intriguing and you'd like to hear more, I'd welcome the chance to chat. Who knows, maybe our interests, wants and needs will align perfectly.

Like what you see?

Join Now and browse for FREE!