Loading

Herschel18 Offline

  • Single, Man seeking a Woman
  • 56 years old from Omaha, NE
  • Logged in: 52 days ago
  • Last Update: 11/7/2013
Have kids:
None
Wants kids:
No
Height:
5' 7" (170 cm)
Religion:
Reform
Smoke:
Trying to quit
Education:
JD/Ph.D/Postdoc…
Occupation:
Entrepreneurial…
Synagogue:
Sometimes
  • IM
  • Flirt
  • E-card
  • Secret Admirer?
  • Favorite

Email Me!

About Me

I am presently living a somewhat uneventful life here in the middle of the country, so I'm hoping to relocate - ideally to a location near an ocean on the West Coast of the U.S. or southern Canada, in a couple of years. I am eager to connect starting now with people I can cultivate friendships before I actually arrive out West, so I won't be moving into an area in which I hardly know anyone at that point. So if a promising connection develops on this site or otherwise by E-mail, etc., it could influence what city or place on the West Coast I eventually choose to move to. Thus anyone who sees something of interest in my profile and reaches out to me need not assume she is for very long condemned to suffering through a long-distance relationship. Unfortunately, I still smoke at this point, but i'm planning to check out these new electronics cigarettes (that don't spew smoke) that I've heard people talk about. Maybe pursuing the option of the electronic cigarettes will be a step toward controlling or even eliminating the problem someday. As for my academic work so far in my life, I have a law background, and I was a history major in undergraduate school. So it might not be surprising that one of my favorite books I've read was a biography of Peter the Great (a tsar of Russia in the 1700's if you're not up on that). I try to keep tabs on U.S. Supreme Court issues and rulings and on other major trends in the law, as well as trying to maintain a grasp of major developments in politics as they occur. Yesterday I heard joyfully, for example, that tea party candidates in Virginia (governor) and Alabama (Congress) both lost. I'm pretty liberal on social issues, but closer to conservative on fiscal issues. I currently also garden when time permits, growing some tomatoes and squash this past summer. I used to play tennis when I was young but haven't in a long time if I moved to a warmer climate there'd be more opportunity to do that so I might be more likely to take it up again. Singles tennis can be good exercise, so it'd make sense for me to try that again. I'm a pretty good listener even though of course I have only some answers and have to point people with problems and frustrations to real experts in fields in which i'm not trained or knowledgeable. I have a deep sense of being Jewish, but I don't have time to squeeze in all the detailed rituals, such as putting up a twig structure during Sukkot or reveling merrily on Purim. The tradition from Judaism I admire most is the idea that one should have resolved one's issues as well as possible and have put one's house in order as soon as possible, to be prepared for the current day as if it might be one's last. I know that means throwing away a lot of stuff I have in a garage and even more in storage, so I haven't passed the test I think is fair yet myself. But I hope to tackle those problems thoroughly before I move away for good.

Like what you see?

Join Now and browse for FREE!