Hollywood Yenta Roundup: Mila Kunis, Lena Dunham and Gwyneth Paltrow…

by JDateAdministrator under Entertainment,Judaism,News

1. Mila’s New Title

Esquire magazine has just named their pick for the “Sexiest Woman Alive” and the title goes to actress Mila Kunis. The 29-year-old Jewish actress (and voice of Meg on Family Guy) has already earned comparable beauty accolades. Last year, GQ named her “Knockout of the Year” and Men’s Health proclaimed her one of the “100 Hottest Women of All Time.”

In an interview with Esquire, she talks about fleeing her native Ukraine with her family in 1991, when she was just 8, to escape rampant anti-Semitism — though she thinks the story was “made into something bigger than it needs to be.”

“My parents should sit down and talk about it,” she says. “They’re the ones who went through hell and back, who gave everything up. I didn’t do anything. I was eight years old, and I tagged along.”

 

2. Lena Dunham Inks New Deal

The bidding war is over and the big winner of Lena Dunham’s next project will be Random House. The book publisher has acquired the 26-year-old actress and writer’s new essay collection, Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s Learned, for more than $3.5 million, The New York Times reports.

Dunham, whose mother is Jewish, is the 26-year-old filmmaker and creator of the HBO show Girls. Random House describes the book as “in the tradition of Helen Gurley Brown, David Sedaris, and Nora Ephron,” with “frank and funny advice on everything from sex to eating to traveling the world.”

 

3. Gwyneth Turns Forty

Gwyneth Paltrow is proving that forty is the new thirty. The actress, whose father was Jewish, celebrated her fortieth birthday over the weekend with a quiet, but star-studded party at the Upper East Side Italian eatery Elio in NYC Friday night.

Us Weekly reports the guest list included Beyonce, Kristen Wiig and Cameron Diaz. Other famous Jews in attendance were Jake Gyllenhaal, Chelsea Handler and the The Beastie Boys’ Mike D.

Paltrow officially turned 40 on September 27. “I was really worried about it, leading up to the day, but now I feel really happy and content with my life,” the Academy Award winner shared. “I’m excited to move into the next phase. It’s much more exciting than I thought it would be.”


Leave a Reply


+ 2 = ten